Vinyl Wednesday: Acid – Acid

Standard

acid-pre

Acid is a band I know nothing about but it didn’t stop me from liking their tunes. I received this record in a batch of 80s heavy metal albums that I purchased over a year ago and once I had sorted them all alphabetically, it stood out like a sore thumb right at the front. I had never heard of them and I’ve not seen too much about them since. Maybe just a random album pops up in vinyl collecting groups here and there online. This is no fault of theirs because they kick some serious ass. After listening to every record in that big bunch of records (100+) I kept the ones that really stuck out to me and this was definitely one of them. The artwork is awesome, the logo is cool as hell, the band name is simple and amazing. They also wrote some tasty riffs on top of all that cool imagery. The band has all the makings of a decent 80s metal band. If you want to hear something new (old) that just might knock your socks off then I’d say give this group a shot.

acid-1

The logo and illustration on the front jacket are the first thing that made me want to listen to this record. Seriously, look at this shit! That imagery is very reminiscent of Metallica’s collaborations with Pushead (although this came out first). Very wicked.

acid-2

acid-3

One thing I noticed about the back cover was that there was no band photo. From what I’ve seen, this seems like a departure from albums of the time period and within the genre. They opted for the simple white text over black background. It truly doesn’t get more effective than that.

acid-4

acid-5

acid-6

acid-7

acid-8

This is a first pressing on the Giant Records label. Just a simple record label with no frills is on the LP. I’m not entirely sure what’s up with that sticker on the B-side but it’s kind of neat.

Leave a comment