Vinyl Wednesday: Creedence Clearwater Revival – The 1969 Singles

Standard

ccr-pre

Creedence Clearwater Revival is one of the voices of a generation. They aren’t my generation, but that doesn’t mean I can’t love a bunch of their songs. The 1969 Singles is a compilation of some of their most famous tracks all gathered onto one 10″ record.

I almost didn’t buy this album when it was released. This was a year that I was buying quite a lot of records at Dave’s Records for Record Store Day 2014 and I was debating on picking this up. Honestly, I don’t know what I was thinking. This has ended up being one of my favorite classic rock albums that I’ve purchased in a long time. It’s all killer and no filler and Nancy and I have fallen asleep many times to this record.

Simple graphics allow for the music to speak for itself with this release. A large image adorns the front. Song titles and a small bit of liner notes are on the back. There is a wonderful, manilla-colored inner sleeve, the labels on the record are very tastefully designed and there is also an illustrated vintage-style hype sticker that came on the outer shrink wrap. Even the thicker, matte paper used to make the jacket has a nice, vintage feel to it. All of this combined to make me absolutely in love with this record and it’s design. It very much reminds me of how I like to design projects. I also really like white vinyl and the contrast that is presented with a dark jacket and the bright, white vinyl is superb.

ccr-2

ccr-3

ccr-4

ccr-5

ccr-6

ccr-7

ccr-8

ccr-9

ccr-11

ccr-10

If you are a fan of CCR, or just classic rock music, I highly suggest picking this up. It can be a little bit expensive for a compilation 10″ record ($20-30) but it’s essentially a full-length recording featuring all the goodies that you already know and love. Also, if you are into the collecting aspect of vinyl then you will appreciate the 5,000-records worldwide (US/Europe) availability.

CCR – The 1969 Singles on Discogs

Leave a Reply

