The Final (Good) Ride of Fall

Standard

fallride-pre

I took a day off of work a little while back and went on a ride with Garry. I didn’t have anywhere specific in mind as to where I wanted to go but of course Garry knew exactly where to go. He’s like human atlas for these Ohio roads. We met up on Rt. 20 and then rode through Oberlin and a few other small towns on our way to some park down in a valley. It was pretty awesome but I couldn’t ever get back there if I had to. I honestly had no clue where I was. Before we left I decided to take our bikes over to a walking path to snag some photos with some of the fall foliage. After the photos we hopped back on the bikes and made our way over to Huron to end up by the lake and then into Sandusky where we filled up my tank and parted ways. I rode back to Cleveland and he went on to Clyde to meet up with my mom and go riding along the lake again. He’s a busy dude, obviously.

Photos of the bikes as well as our two main stops are below.

The first place we stopped was a small park in a valley. We ventured out onto the river bed and I took a few photos. Nice, calming stuff here. Looks pretty much like any of the Metroparks spots Naners and I are used to but it was nice knowing it was somewhere I hadn’t been before.

park1

park2

park3

Garry also decided to bust out his map and show me all of the roads he has ridden in Ohio. Looks like he pretty much has the state covered by this point. I showed him the road that Nancy and I like to ride down and wouldn’t you know it, he has NOT ridden on it before. That seems like something we’ll have to remedy next season.

I brought the Canon with me just in case we went somewhere that I could snag some photos of the bikes and this park didn’t disappoint. The photos aren’t super great or anything but the lighting and color was decent enough to snap a few photos and edit them for Garry and myself. I think this was the first time I even took non-iPhone photos of the bike. I wish the windshield and saddlebags weren’t on it, but hey… what can ya do?

sportster3

sportster2

sportster4

sportster1

garrysdresser5

garrysdresser6

garrysdresser4

garrysdresser2

garrysdresser1

After we hopped back on the bikes and began riding again I decided to pull out my phone and take some photos of the old man while we had riding. I don’t think he was expecting it at first but he gave me a nice smile anyway.

ride1

ride2

One of my goals for the season after taking over the Harley was to put 3,000 miles on it. This might not sound hard for a lot of people but when you get off of work at 5pm, arrive home at 6pm and then with cooking dinner and cleaning up there’s not a lot of time left to go riding on a normal day. Add in the fact that it can take us 45 minutes to go just 15-20 miles and you don’t generally tally many miles when living in the city. Most of my miles (~2,000) came from riding back and forth to Clyde and from the one weekend where we went almost to Cincinnati and back. The last thousand were getting hard to cover, though. Luckily, on this day I managed to break through my 3K goal and when we happened to stop at a gas station I looked down and saw the number about to tick over. Cool stuff.

ride3

After the store we made our way to Huron and we rode over the the lakefront. It was calm and quiet. Just what I needed on the day off. We sat there for a little while talking about random stuff and then we hopped on the bikes for our journeys home.

lake1

lake2

lake3

One thought on “The Final (Good) Ride of Fall

  1. Garry P. salmons

    Ed/Nancy, Finally got on here to check this out, I’m impressed, good way for the old guy to pass time during hibernation.

Leave a Reply

