Vinyl Wednesday: Iron Maiden – Wasted Years

Standard

WastedYears-pre

Back in the saddle again and this time I ride with the mighty steed by the name of Iron Maiden. This is one of those random records I got in the collection that I recently purchased. I’m slowly making my way through listening to all of the goodies but this was something I made a point to listen to early on.

Now, I’m not a huge Iron Maiden fan. As a matter of fact, I would almost say I don’t like them at all. The truth is that I love covers of their music but I don’t necessarily love when I hear them play it. It’s a bit goofy but it is what it is. What I DO love about Iron Maiden is all of the fantastic imagery that they’ve utilized throughout their career.The evolution of Eddie is absolutely top-notch and something that any fan of album art can really get lost in.

You may be asking yourself why I was excited to obtain this picture disc and why I made it a priority to listen to this record if I’m not a fan of theirs. Fair enough and the answer is simple: I just really like this song. This is one of the Maiden songs that I don’t care who plays it. It’s just that damned good.

This is a two-song shaped picture disc so there isn’t a lot to really talk about. The shape is unique, the art is on point (as usual) and the photo of the band on the B-side is worth the asking price for this on any day. Check it out!

WastedYears-1

Lots of cool details to get into with this record. The old-school computer console and super-old LCD lettering bring you back to a time when computers were big, bulky and took a degree in rocket science to run them. Eddie makes his appearance at the top of the graphic along with the classic Iron Maiden logo and the song title. Derek Riggs really did a phenomenal job with this whole illustration. Eddie is portrayed as a cyborg (which coincides with the Somewhere In Time LP artwork/theme. The clock on the front reads 23:58 which references another Iron Maiden song titled “2 Minutes to Midnight”. I’m sure there are plenty more little references like that that I’ve missed as well.

WastedYears-2

WastedYears-3

The back is a lot simpler as it houses the liner track listing, band image and liner notes. There’s not a lot of room to go crazy with illustrative details but they did manage to fit another really cool illustration across the bottom. Iron Maiden always has a visual punch ready for you and this small 7″ single doesn’t disappoint.

WastedYears-4

WastedYears-5

And before you go, get a load of this band photo. Total stunner. They have got to be the most accidentally-goofy band in all of metal. The face/stance of Bruce Dickinson with long hair, that ripped sleeveless shirt and medium-wash jeans is just too much. I look at this photo and it’s just a heaping pile of laughter for me. Good job fellas!

WastedYears-6

 

Leave a Reply

