Flourishing

Standard

Flourishing

It’s been a long few months for me. I started a new, full-time job on November 2 of last year. Couple that with the holidays and there hasn’t been much time to post to the blog or design fun things or photographing oddball shit. Hopefully that can change now that things are calming down.

Anyway, the above image was created during my first week at my job. I wasn’t really busy at the time and I had a really old sketchbook with me so I decided to vectorize some old designs I had laying around. I remember these being created during my internship at Todd T Designs in the summer of 2009. I was either on the train, sitting around the house or staring out the large windows of the office when making these weird ornamental things. I have a few pages filled up with different variations. All cool and flowing. When I saw them again in the sketchbook I decided there was no better time than the present to sit and actually draw them out digitally.

I took some photos with my phone, emailed them to myself and pulled them into Illustrator. It wasn’t an overly complicated process to create them, just kind of time consuming and I’m still not totally happy with the larger curves. Not quite perfect for me. Whatever though. I then grabbed some paper textures and a quick Wikipedia definition of “ornament” and slapped this little design together.

Quick and dirty. Just the way I like it. Ha! Hopefully some new small projects or photos will be coming your way soon. I’d also like to get back to doing the vinyl posts. Lots of newer goodies to share with the world. Keep checking back for more fun.

Leave a Reply

