Happy Halloween

Standard

I don’t like Halloween. There, I said it. I’m sure I did at some point, probably as a kid when there was free candy involved. I was never good at the whole costume thing, though, and I ended up relying on the classics: witch, vampire, pirate, a slice of pizza (I think that one’s still in a closet somewhere). They were usually home made, which was totally fine, in fact it’s how I learned to sew, and the candy was great, but I was totally one of those kids too obsessed with making my candy last, thus I never finished it. Lame.

CreepyClown_1Ed has more exciting, sinister costumes in his past, probably thanks to his Mom loving Halloween. A deep love that means one year he gave her Halloween decorations for Christmas for the annual costume party she would throw. On top of that, I’m sure Ed used to finish his trick or treating candy promptly and, once he was too old to go door to door, I know he would to raid his little cousins stashes.

I’m more partial to staying in and watching a themed movie or TV episode because at heart I’m 50. We’ve watched The Crow on Devil’s Night and though I pass on horror movies, I usually feel the need to watch The Silence of the Lambs in the fall. This year Ed owes me a movie of my choice, so I’ll be forcing him to watch The Rocky Horror Picture Show (or more likely watching alone while he passes out). If you need some inspiration for a movie or TV night of your own then look no further.

 

Clue

CLUE
Back in the days of AOL, I changed the “You’ve got mail” sound to a scene from clue (“And you had a letter, and you had a letter, and you had a letter…”). Basically, I was super cool.

Psycho

PSYCHO
Perfectly creepy Hitchcock. My cousin and I quote this movie to each other, especially the mother’s lines because she’s so wonderfully sassy. “You think I’m fruity, ey?”

RockyHorror

ROCKY HORROR PICTURE SHOW
In college, my roommate and I decided who each of our friends would be. I’m not sure we ever told them, but I was definitely Magenta. We would also occasionally do Magenta and Riff Raff’s strange rolling high five greeting and she named her two cats Columbia and Magenta.

YoungFrankenstein

YOUNG FRANKENSTEIN
This is the movie I would watch on Halloween growing up and, therefore, I know most of the lines, which is probably annoying. My mom loves the scene with the blindman (Gene Hackman).

Korn

SOUTH PARK
Ed’s contribution is fairly relevant considering his recent post about Follow the Leader. I’ve never watched this episode, I don’t think, but it looks fairly awesome judging it on this one image. Go watch here.

STREAMING ON NETFLIX:
New Girl, Season 2, Episode 6 – Halloween
How I Met Your Mother, Season 1, Episode 6 – The Slutty Pumpkin
Bob’s Burgers, Season 3, Episode 2 – Full Bars
That 70’s Show, Season 2, Episode 5 – Halloween

Or cozy up to your computer and watch Boy Meets World’s And Then There was Shawn. Classic.

Happy Halloween!

4 thoughts on “Happy Halloween

Leave a Reply

