Daily Drivers

Standard

DailyDrivers-Final_pre

Over the weekend I was finally able to finish the Daily Drivers series of digital illustrations that I had been working on for the last couple weeks. The goal was to create some nice, flat-color illustrations of vehicles that are the workhorses of the road. Vehicles that are often overlooked and used in a more utilitarian fashion. I chose 10 different types of vehicles, each one coming from a different manufacturer. The categories were (left to right, top to bottom): SUV, Classic, Wagon, Sedan, Hatchback, Muscle, Pickup, Bicycle, Motorcycle, Scooter. Hit the jump to see larger versions, some of my favorite details, a patriotic variation and a poster showcasing it all.

Print

Print

Print

Print

Print

Print

Print

Print

Print

Print

Each vehicle presented unique challenges. From the wheels and rims to representing depth within the body contours, each vehicle required a slightly different approach to completion. Some of my favorite pieces are the Schwinn (the gears were fun to work with), the Trans Am (I love those rims) and the Buick (wood paneling was a fun challenge to represent). Check out some detail shots below.

DailyDrivers-Final_Details

The patriotic variations were a simple change-up of the backgrounds to represent where the vehicle manufacturers are from. I chose to use the Chicago flag for the Schwinn for two reasons. The first being that I didn’t want another American flag in the set (it was already too heavy with the stars and stripes) and also because the Chicago flag is widely known enough that I could use it and it would still make sense to most people. To use a Detroit flag or Wisconsin’s state flag on other vehicles would have seemed odd and out of place but Chicago’s simple, striking flag design fit in perfectly.

DailyDrivers-Final_Patriotic

When I was all finished with creating all of the car illustrations I decided I also wanted to create some sort of design to show off the vehicles at once. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to fit all 10 vehicles onto a poster in a way that I was happy with so instead I chose to use 9 of the vehicles, leaving the Honda Civic off of the final piece. I chose to include information about the make, model, year, class, top speed and origin for each vehicle. This appears under each vehicle in a simple format for easy reading and reference.

DailyDrivers-Final_Poster1

DailyDrivers-Final_Poster2

Leave a Reply

