Long Exposure Sunrise

Standard

ND-Pre

Last weekend Nancy and I decided to get up early and head over to the lake to test out some neutral density filters that I recently acquired. I wanted to see about getting a sunrise image with the lake, some rocky foreground and some kind of a pier (or something in the water) all in a shot. I knew where to go, had an idea of what time to get up and leave and I had all the tools I would need. The only problem was that I just had never done this before.

It wasn’t hard or anything it’s more that I didn’t realize just how bright and overpowering the sun would be at 5:10 am with some slight cloud cover. It was rough but I overcame. I quickly realized that I wouldn’t be able to get my shutter speed as low as I wanted so I started doing some filter stacking and eventually came out with some photos that were good. I don’t necessarily love them but I think they are good for a first attempt. Next time I will be trying for a sunset image. I’ll probably set up at the same place and try it all again.

Hit the jump to see some color and black & white shots. Click the photo to see a larger version.

ND-Left_BWND-Left_ColorND-Right_Color

Leave a Reply

