Latest work: CTA

Standard

CTA-Font

Since I moved to this city in 2012 I have seen this typeface in the train stations across the city and I have wanted it badly. It’s not at every station and it seems that it’s being taken away more and more as the years go by because of construction and refurbishing the platforms. Finally, last December I finally set out to photograph all the examples of it that I could find and then create the thing myself (see here). So I went to all the stations that would have it, I took all the photos I could and then what? I sat on my ass and didn’t create the thing, that’s what.

Well, I finally got the time and motivation necessary to whip this bad boy into shape¬†so I’ve been spending the better portion of the last two days creating letters, numbers and punctuation and now I’m onto the actual typeface creation part of it. It’s probably my least favorite part of the process because it’s essentially just coding the damn thing up but it’s a necessary step and it’s going smooth so far.

I’ll provide more details soon but for now you can hit the jump and check out two more images of the letters.

CTA-Sample1

CTA-Sample2

Leave a Reply

